Global Poker Awards Set To Make Its Return In March 2022 May 5, 2021 Juan Blanco

Global Poker Awards Set To Make Its Return In March 2022

 Poker News May 4, 2021 by  Juan Blanco

GPI Global Poker AwardsThere was no Global Poker Awards being held in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but it will make a return in March 2022, in partnership with PokerGO.

The PokerGO Studio at the ARIA Resort & Casino in Las Vegas will remain the home of the GPA for the next three years, and upcoming editions will also be streamed live on PokerGO’s streaming service.

Formerly known as the American Poker Awards, the Global Poker Award (GPA) is an annual celebration of excellence in poker, bringing together notable poker pros, as well as poker media and industry pioneers and professionals who have made huge contributions to the overall growth of the game.

The awards show is powered by the Global Poker Index (GPI) and The Hendon Mob (THM). Each year, poker personalities are nominated in numerous categories, with the ultimate winners being presented with a commemorative trophy. The first two editions in 2019 and 2020 each awarded 25 trophies.

2022 Global Poker Awards

The 2022 edition of the awards show will feature more than 20 categories, including the GPI Player of the Year, GPI Female Player of the Year, Players’ Choice Award for Hand of the Year, Players’ Choice Award for Best All-Around Poker Player and Poker ICON.

Global Poker Index & The Hendon Mob


The GPA did not take place in March 2021 mainly because of the continuing threat of COVID-19. GPI President Eric Danis said a proper awards ceremony wouldn’t be possible this year, considering that there was not much going on in live poker for over a year as a result of the pandemic. It would not have made sense to push through with the awards show, despite looser restrictions in Vegas, Danis said.

Next year will be the best time to celebrate accomplishments, with the live poker scene now slowly returning to normal and vaccination rollouts are in full swing in some countries, including the US.

Top GPA Winners

Poker couple Alex Foxen and Kristen Bicknell were named GPI Player of the Year and GPI Female Player of the Year for two consecutive years. Similarly, Lex Veldhuis also shipped back-to-back victory in the Streamer of the Year category.

Last year, Joey Ingram won the award for Journalist of the Year and Content of the Year – Video, while the PokerStars Players Championship (PSPC) was named Event of the Year. Broadcaster of the Year went to Nick Schulman, while Paul Phua of Triton Poker shipped the Industry Person of the Year award.

Robert Campbell was awarded the GPI Breakout Player of the Year, and Stephen Chidwick won the Players Choice Award for Toughest Opponent.

Juan Blanco Contributor

Juan is our Spanish speaking author, he works on our dedicated Spanish site , as well as writing stories on the goings on in the Spanish market.