Final List of 10 Nominees for 2023 Poker Hall of Fame Released

Last Updated on June 23, 2023 Author:Adrian Sterne

Poker Hall of FameSummary:

  • This year’s list includes seven returnees and three new nominees
  • The 32 living members of the club will vote on the 2023 inductee
  • The winner will be revealed during the WSOP Hall of Fame Bounty event on July 13

The 2023 Poker Hall of Fame nominations are now officially closed with 10 individuals making the final cut. Many of the names on the list were also among last year’s nominees.

The 32 living members of the elite club will now vote on who should become the 2023 inductee.

2023 Poker Hall of Fame Nominees

The 2023 list of nominees is comprised of both returnees and fresh faces. Josh Arieh is nominated again this year and can be considered a frontrunner given his strong performance at the ongoing WSOP festival. The American poker pro just won his fifth gold bracelet at the 2023 series and has so far made 11 cashes, pushing him to the 6th spot in the WSOP Player of the Year race.

Mike Matusow is also among the returnees. Many believe the four-time bracelet winner should be inducted this year given his accomplishments, with Phil Hellmuth being his most vocal supporter.

Kathy Liebert has made the cut once again. The 55-year-old has won one gold bracelet and over $6.8 million in live tournament cashes throughout her career, making her one of the world’s most successful female poker players.

Brian Rast also returns, and rightly so, as he just won the prestigious $50K Poker Players Championship (PPC) for the third time. Rast now has six gold bracelets and his latest WSOP victory could boost his chances of being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame this year.

WSOP announcers Norman Chad and Lon McEachern, and prominent industry figures Matt Savage (tournament director) and Isai Scheinberg (PokerStars founder), all of whom were nominated in 2022, are also back on the list this year.

The three new names included in the 2023 Poker Hall of Fame nominees’ list are six-time bracelet winner and stud cash game crusher Ted Forrest, American poker pro Jeremy Ausmus who also holds six bracelets, and the late Bill Smith who was the winner of the 1985 WSOP Main Event.

2023 Inductee to be Announced on July 13

Each of this year’s nominees deserves to be enshrined in the Poker Hall of Fame. Choosing the 2023 inductee should be a tough task for the 32 living members of the club. The winner will be announced during the WSOP Hall of Fame Bounty tournament on July 13.

After that, the inductee’s Hall of Fame picture will be unveiled at the new WSOP Poker Room at Horseshoe Las Vegas.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments