The Best & Finest Of 2018 Honoured at First Global Poker Awards

Last Updated on April 8, 2019 Author:Adrian Sterne

GPI Global Poker AwardsThe best poker ambassadors and players of 2018 have been recognized and facilitated at the inaugural Global Poker Awards (GPA) held at the PokerGO studios in Las Vegas.

The awards show was hosted by commentator Ali Nejad and hostess Drea Renee, and within 74 minutes, all winners were holding their respective awards from a variety of different categories.

The Global Poker Awards was unique in a number of ways. One of them was because poker is a male dominated game but on the night it was the women who turned out to be the biggest stars garnering most of the awards.

Women in poker definitely showcased their power on April 5 when they were honoured with some of the major awards. Some of these awards include ‘Broadcaster of the Year‘ which was won by Maria Ho; ‘Journalist of the Year‘ which was given to Sarah Herring, and ‘Industry Person of the Year‘ going to Angelica Hael. In their acceptance speeches, the ladies recounted their journey to the top and expressed their gratitude for winning the awards.

Ho remembered how she used to simply play in tournaments, until she made it to the TV screens and eventually played a vital role in strategic discussions regarding poker on TV broadcasts. Sarah Herring spoke about how challenging it was when she first embarked on her poker journey. She attributed her success to two people and named Lynn Gilmartin and Kirsty Arnett, her predecessors at PokerNews.

An emotional Hael walked to the stage to accept her award and delivered a sincere speech about her role in the industry, working with the World Poker Tour (WPT). The WPT VP of Global Tour Management was the most applauded winner of the night.

List of Winners

The ‘Global Poker Index Player of the Year‘ title went to Alex Foxen, with the ‘Female Player of the Year‘ awarded to Foxen’s girlfriend and fellow poker pro Kristen Bicknell. Andre Neeme was named ‘Vlogger of the Year‘ and Chip Race Poker Podcast won ‘Podcast of the Year‘. Ali Imsirovic won ‘Breakout Player of the Year‘, while Lex Veldhuis received the award for ‘Streamer of the Year‘.

Robbie Strazynski won ‘Charitable Initiative of the Year‘. The journalist ran 1000 kilometers and gained donations for his “Running Well” fundraising efforts; the proceeds, totalling more than $10,000, went to Save a Child’s Heart.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments