The 5th Annual Global Poker Awards Handed Out 29 Trophies

Last Updated on March 13, 2024 Author:Adrian Sterne

GPI Global Poker AwardsSummary:

  • The 5th Annual Global Poker Awards brought together the most brilliant players in the industry.
  • The ceremony awarded 29 trophies, marking important wins for PokerStars and the WPT.
  • The late Doyle Brunson honored with prestigious Poker Icon Award.

As anticipated, the 5th Annual Global Poker Awards event reunited the biggest poker stars and actors in the industry at the PokerGO Studio.

No less than 29 trophies were handed out to the greatest contributors on February 24, with names like PokerStars, the World Poker Tour, the late Doyle Brunson, Bin Weng, Nick Pupillo, and Kristen Foxen on the list of winners.

Here are the highlights of the ceremony led by Drea Renee and Jeff Platt.

<h2?Fan’s Choice Winners, Industry Awards, and Special Accolades

Longtime friend Mori Eskandani was present to accept the Poker Icon Award for the late Doyle Brunson, who was joined as a special award recipient by Nadya Magnus whose efforts to boost women’s representation in major poker events were also recognized during the event.

Paying tribute to the top performances of the year, the ceremony handed out the GPI Player of the Year award to Bin Weng.

The Mid-Major counterpart of the season-long points race was won by Nick Pupillo while Kristen Foxen also scored a women’s points race trophy, marking her fourth such win.

The GPI Breakout Player award reached Jans Arends while Isaac Haxton took home the PokerGO Tour Player of the Year trophy.

The Hendon Mob Award reached Casey Kastle for his performance of being the first player to pick up a cashing finish in 50 countries.

Multiple Trophies for PokerStars and WPT

Important poker tours scooped up a large number of awards, with emphasis on the World Poker Tour and PokerStars.

For instance, the WPT received the Best Mid-Major Circuit/Tour trophy for the Prime series while President Adam Pliska was honored with the Best Industry Person award.

The WPT was again represented by Dan Sepiol’s award for his accomplishments at the WPT World Championship final table.

PokerStars’ Toby Stone was acknowledged as Best Tournament Director while the PokerStars LIVE team grabbed the Best Stream award.

Wynn Millions won the Best Stand-Alone Series while the WSOP Main Event was rewarded with the Best Event trophy.

Marle Spragg won Best X/Twitter Personality while Greg “Greg Goes All In” Liow took home the Fan’s Choice for Poker Personality trophy.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments