PSL Cancels Season 3 Land-Based Qualifiers Due to COVID-19

Last Updated on April 2, 2020 Author:Adrian Sterne

poker sports leagueIndian poker players who were looking to play the live qualifiers to take part in Season 3 of the Poker Sports League will be disappointed to learn that it has been cancelled.

Organizers have just announced that land-based qualifiers will not now push through, due to the ongoing global health crisis.

India is currently on lockdown after recording increasing cases of COVID-19. Strict quarantine measures will be in place until April 14.

Organizers had originally planned to hold qualifier tournaments in different locations in the country, including Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, and New Delhi.

Poker Sports League


The good news is that the online qualifiers will proceed as scheduled, which means those missing out on the land-based qualifiers still have one more option to take part – go online. All they have to do is to register via the PSL app which is available for download on both iOS and Android.

Online qualifiers for Season 3 kicked off on November 14, 2019, and will run through to April 5, 2020. Players are allowed to participate in up to 18 online qualifiers. Given the 50% increase in online registrations since November, the PSL will not have a hard time attracting participants despite the cancellation of its land-based tournaments.

PSL Season 3 – More Details

Season 3 is set to feature a total of six teams, composed of a total of 72 players. Each team is comprised of 12 players, including 7 amateurs who will earn spots through the online qualifiers. A mentor will also be leading the team. Roster selection for each team will be made on April 30 in New Delhi. However, due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, there might be slight changes to the schedule.

On May 17 and 18, the teams will take part in a league-wide boot camp where members get the opportunity to showcase and hone their skills, and develop their poker strategy. The teams will then compete in a grand finale on May 19-23 in Kolkata.

In India where poker has remained in legal limbo for years, the presence of PSL gives much-needed boost to promoting the game as a mind sport, and change people’s perception of it being a game of chance. Season 1 was remarkable as it allowed the participation of two foreign players in each team.

This Season however, the competition is exclusive for Indian players only, to accommodate the thousands of players in the country who want to take part. The six teams who will battle it out in Season 3 are the Kolkata Kings, Goan Nuts, Mumbai Anchors, Delhi Czars, Gujarat Falcons and Deccan Aces.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments