Poker Hall of Fame Selects Late Layne Flack As The 61st Inductee

Last Updated on July 12, 2022 Author:Adrian Sterne

Layne FlackSummary

  • Flack was selected as this year’s Poker Hall of Fame inductee
  • The legendary player won six WSOP bracelets and a WPT title throughout his career
  • He was one of the most entertaining players to watch at the table

The late Layne Flack has become the 61st member of the Poker Hall of Fame. The recognition came almost a year after he passed away at age 52.

Flack was widely considered one of the legends of the game best remembered not only for his excellent skills as a player but also for his quick-witted, fun personality at the table.

Flack outshined the other nominees this year, including tournament director Matt Savage, poker pros Mike Matusow, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Josh Arieh, Michael Mizrachi, Brian Rast and Kathy Liebert, as well as poker commentary duo Norman Chad & Lon McEachern and PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg.

Selection Process

In June, poker fans around the world were asked to nominate who they believe should be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame this year. Those receiving the top 10 highest votes were then submitted to the selection panel comprised of the 30 living members of the prestigious club tasked to determine the winner. Flack was announced as the latest inductee during the $1,979 Poker Hall of Fame Bounty event on July 11.

Since 2005, the Poker Hall of Fame had inducted two individuals annually, but that changed in 2020 when the committee decided that there would only be one inductee per year. That honor went to Huck Seed. In 2021, Eli Elezra joined the club. The Poker Hall of Fame last inducted two individuals in 2019. They were Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim.

Layne Flak’s Legacy

Flak was well-loved as a family man, friend, and poker pro. Throughout the years he played poker, many would remember him for his ability to keep the fun in the game through his antics at the table. But more than that, the Rapid City, South Dakota native was one of the world’s most successful poker players, having won six World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelets and a World Poker Tour (WPT) title.

He was among the most popular faces of the poker boom in the 2000s. It was around those years that he began to make a name for himself in the live tournament scene. He was the best player during that period, according to his fellow nominee Savage who is still waiting for his time to join the Poker Hall of Fame after being nominated seven times already.

The backlog of deserving players will continue to grow in the coming years as more poker pros become eligible at age 40, including Phil Galfond, Tom Dwan, Vanessa Selbst, Jason Koon and Scott Seiver.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments