Dan Zack Continues To Dominate 2022 WSOP POY Leaderboard

Last Updated on July 5, 2022 Author:Gabrielle Monet

Dan ZackSummary

  • Dan Zack holds on to number 1 spot followed by Daniel Weinman
  • Other big names currently in the top 10 are Shaun Deeb, Phil Ivey, and Alex Foxen
    Defending champ Josh Arieh remains in contention at no. 11

With just a few weeks left before the 2022 World Series of Poker (WSOP) wraps up, players are ramping up their efforts to collect as many points as possible for the highly-coveted Player of the Year (POY) title.

The latest rankings show Dan Zack holding on to the top spot, with the likes of Shaun Deeb, Phil Ivey, David Peters, and Alex Foxen also in contention. Josh Arieh is also keen on pulling off a back-to-back POY victory.

Dan Zack Still at the Top

The top two places are occupied by the Daniel Zack and Daniel Weinman. Both players have remained at no. 1 and no. 2 respectively since last week with less than 700 points between them.

Zack has so far won two bracelets and is the only player to do so this year. He took down Event #15: $10,000 Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better Championship for $440,757. He then went on to win Event #40: $10,000 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo 8 or Better Championship. That victory came with a $324,174 payout. Zack’s 2022 WSOP record now includes 11 cashes in total, including four final table finishes and two bracelets. That earned him 3,702 points.


Current Standings

Meanwhile, Weinman (3,087 points) cashed in 13 events so far and won Event $30: $1,000 Pot-Limit Omaha for $255,359 to secure the 2nd spot.

Trailing close behind Weinman at no. 3 is Shaun Deeb, one of the most active pursuers of the POY title. He received the award back in 2018 and is looking to win it for the second time around. Deeb cashed in 14 events (2,488 points) but has yet to win a bracelet this year.

Coming in at no. 4 is Joao Simao Peres with 2,432 points. The Brazilian poker pro has recorded eight cashes so far, including one bracelet. Alex Foxen, who won his maiden gold bracelet this year in Event #50: $250,000 Super High Roller No-Limit Hold’em for over $4.5 million, has slipped down to no. 5 with 2.390 points.

David Peters is currently at no. 6 (2,222 points), followed by Ivey at no. 7 (2,213). The other players completing the Top 10 in the latest standings are Koray Aldemir (2,166), Chad Eveslage (2,068) and Dash Dudley (2,050).

Defending champion Arieh is at 11th place with 2,041 points but remains in contention with several key events yet to play out. Arieh is followed by Scott Seiver at no. 12 with 2,011 points.

  Contact Me

Gabrielle is our resident French author, as well as managing our French site she specialises in breaking the latest European poker stories whether related to France or not.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments