2022 PHOF Will Receive Online Nominations From Fans Till July 19

Last Updated on June 8, 2022 Author:Adrian Sterne

Poker Hall of FameSummary

  • Fans can submit their nominations online until June 19
  • Those nominated in 2021 are eligible again this year
  • The 2022 list could include veteran candidate Matt Savage and newcomer Brian Rast

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) has officially opened the nomination process for the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame. Poker fans will have a say on who should be inducted next into the prestigious club which currently has 32 living members. They have time till June 19 to send in their nominations.

To be eligible, a player must be at least 40 years old at the time of nomination, must have played the game against acknowledged top competition, and must have also competed in high-stakes games. The potential nominee should have stood the test of time and played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers.

The Hall of Fame is also open to non-players who have made a huge contribution to the overall growth and success of the game, leaving an indelible, positive impact on the poker world.

Fans can submit their nominee online on WSOP.com. They must include in their vote a brief explanation as to why that particular person deserves to be the next Poker Hall of Fame inductee.

The Governing Council will then review the top 10 nominations, after which the club’s 32 living members will decide who should make it to the final cut. The 61st Poker Hall of Fame member will be inducted in a ceremony that takes place alongside the final table of the 2022 WSOP Main Event in Las Vegas.

Potential Candidates

Four-time WSOP bracelet winner Eli Elezra was enshrined into the exclusive club in 2021. The other nine individuals who made it to the final list last year, including Antonio Esfandiari, Mike Matusow, Matt Savage, Ted Forrest, Chris Ferguson, Michael Mizrachi, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, and Isai Scheinberg can be nominated again this year.

The 2022 nominees may also include many newcomers who recently met the minimum age requirement. The likes of Steve O’Dwyer, Anthony Zinno, and Brian Rast could be part of this year’s list, given their massive accomplishments as players.

Meanwhile, those who have been consistently nominated over the years will get another shot, including five-time WSOP bracelet winner Allen Cunningham, as well as veteran WSOP announcers Norman Chad and Lon McEachern. Savage, who has already been nominated six times, could finally make it this year.

In the past, multiple players were inducted each year but that changed in 2020 when the WSOP decided that there would only be one inductee per year. Concerns have been raised over this new rule as several legendary players who, in the coming years, will turn 40, could be left out of the Hall of Fame.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of top10pokersites.net, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments