Who Has A Chance At Winning A “WSOP Triple Crown” in 2021?

Last Updated on April 21, 2021 Author:Adrian Sterne

World Series of Poker -  Triple CrownThere are less than a dozen players who have captured the “Triple Crown” title in poker history.

A player earns the highly-coveted title if he or she wins on all three of the major poker tours: the World Series of Poker (WSOP), the World Poker Tour (WPT), and the European Poker Tour (EPT).

The Triple Crown list of winners currently includes Gavin Griffin (2008), Roland De Wolfe (2009), Jake Cody (2011), Bertrand Grospellier (2011), David Kitai (2012), Mohsin Charania (2017), Niall Farrell (2017), Harrison Gimbel (2017) and Roberto Romanello (2020).

For the longest time, “Triple Crown” has been used to refer to victories achieved in the WSOP, WPT, and EPT. But now, with the WSOP announcing three major festivals in 2021, a new version of “Triple Crown” is about to emerge.

This year, WSOP gold bracelets will be up for grabs in three separate WSOP events: WSOP Online (WSOP.com & GGPoker), WSOP Live Las Vegas (Rio All-Suites Hotel & Casino), and WSOP Europe (King’s Resort, Rozvadov, Czech Republic). Meaning, some players could become WSOP Triple Crown winners if they manage to win in at least one WSOP event this year.

Which Players Need Which Crown

Let’s take a look at who could potentially secure a Triple Crown title in the WSOP in the next few months, and in what particular festival they should win a bracelet.

WSOP Las Vegas

The only player on the list who needs to win a WSOP gold bracelet in Las Vegas to capture a Triple Crown title is Anson Tsang. The poker pro from Hong Kong won his first bracelet in a Pot-Limit Omaha 8-Max event during the 2018 WSOP Europe.

He just won his second bracelet during the 2020 WSOP Online on GGPoker Network when he took down Event #68: $500 Deepstack No-Limit Hold’em [Asia].

WSOP Europe

Among big names who lack a WSOP Europe bracelet are Fedor Holz, Chance Kornuth, Kristen Bicknell and Upeshka De Silva. The list also includes Josh Pollock, Joe McKeehen, Tony Dunst, David Peters and Nick Binger.

WSOP Online

There are 23 players who need to capture an online bracelet event to complete the Triple Crown title. They include some of the best players in the game, such as Phil Hellmuth, Daniel Negreanu, Bertrand Grospellier, Antonio Esfandiari, John Juanda and Chris Ferguson.

  Contact Me

Hi, I am the Chief Editor of top10pokersites.net, this site is dedicated to all thing poker. I have been working around the poker industry for the last 15 years, with different brands. The main purpose of this site is to keep you uptodate with the industry and offer you the best deals around.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments